National Historic Site & Park
Eugene O’Neill National Historic Site
1000 Kuss Road, Danville
America’s only Nobel Prize winning playwright, Eugene O’Neill, chose to live in Northern California at the climax of his writing career. Isolated from the world and within the walls of his home, O’Neill wrote his final and most memorable plays; The Iceman Cometh, Long Day’s Journey Into Night, and A Moon for the Misbegotten.
California Historic Landmarks
FRANCISCO SOLANO ALVISO ADOBE
3459 Foothill Rd
This building, erected in 1844-46 by Francisco Solano Alviso, was the first adobe house to be built in the Pleasanton Valley. It was originally called Alisal-The Sycamores. Following the Battle of Sunol Canyon, General John C. Frémont withdrew to this building, which became his headquarters for several days.
CRESTA BLANCA WINERY – (Now Wente Vineyards)
5050 Arroyo Rd, Livermore
Here, Charles A. Wetmore planted his vineyard in 1882. The Cresta Blanca wine he made from its fruit won for California the first international award. The highest honor at the 1889 Paris Exposition. First bringing assurance to California wine growers that they could grow wines comparable to the finest in the world. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 586 Plaque placed by California State Park Commission in cooperation with Livermore Chamber of Commerce, June 15, 1957.
4590 Tesla Rd, Livermore
Here, in 1883, James Concannon founded the Concannon Vineyard. The quality it achieved in Sacramental and commercial wines helped establish Livermore Valley as one of America’s select wine growing districts. Grape cuttings from this vineyard were introduced to Mexico between 1889 and 1904 for the improvement of its commercial viticulture. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 641
Joaquin Murrieta and Murrieta’s Well
3005 Mines Road, Livermore CA
The legend of Joaquin Murrieta is one of the most enduring and fascinating of chapters in California history. Facts, fiction and romantic tales entangle to create a legend of unique aura that had become part of California’s folklore, especially in the Livermore Valley where Joaquin was a frequent visitor. In the early 1850’s Joaquin Murrieta roamed this land. Most famous as an avenging outlaw or a Robin Hood, Joaquin Murrieta and his men were above everything else horsemen, and of the best of breeds. Wild horses, abundant in those days around the Sacramento Delta, were rounded up by Joaquin and his men and driven to Sonora, Mexico, where they were sold at high prices. One of Joaquin’s favorite camps was at this spot because he claimed the water here was the best in the country where he rode. This fountain is over the artesian well that Joaquin Murrieta favored to water his herds of wild mustangs. Dedicated April 16, 1995, Joaquin Murrieta Chapter 13, E Clampus Vitus
WENTE BROS. WINERY
5565 Tesla Rd, Livermore
Here the first Wente Vineyards of 47 acres was established by C.H. Wente in 1883. In 1935 his sons, Ernest and Herman, introduced California’s first varietal wine label, Sauvignon Blanc. The efforts of the Wente family have helped to establish the Livermore Valley as one of the premier wine-growing areas of California. In their centennial year, Wente Bros. is the oldest continuously operating, family-owned winery in California. California Registered Historical Landmark No.957 Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with Joaquin Murrieta Chapter 13, E Clampus Vitus, and Livermore Heritage Guild, September 24, 1983.
CAPTAIN PEDRO FAGES TRAIL
856 Danville Blvd, Danville
In 1772 Fages, Commandante at Monterey, vainly looked for a way across San Francisco Bay. With Franciscan missionary Juan Crespí, 14 soldiers, a muleteer, and an Indian servant, he trekked along Carquinez Strait, thence eastward nearly to Antioch before turning back. These, the first white men to explore what became Contra Costa County, passed this point and camped near Danville on March 31, 1772.
Mount Diablo State Park, on summit, 4.5 mi E of ranger station,
South Gate Rd, Danville
Mount Diablo, sacred to Native Americans who lived and worshipped there for over 5,000 years became a critical reference point for Spanish explorers in the 18th century, and American trappers and early California settlers in the 19th. In 1851 Colonel Leander Ransome established the crossing of the Mount Diablo Base and meridian lines from which most of California and Nevada are surveyed. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 905 Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the San Ramon Valley Historical Society, April 23, 1978.
Bank of Italy
2250 1st St., Livermore
This granite faced building was designed in the Classic Renaissance Revival Style for the Bank of Italy in 1921. It later became the thirteenth branch of the Bank of America. From 1957-1978, this building served as Livermore’s city hall. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places May 1978 Plaque designated by Livermore Heritage Preservation Commission July 1987
2155 Third Street, Livermore CA
Livermore Public City Library 1911 to 1966 City of Livermore Historic Preservation Landmark Site Dedicated July 1996 Operated by Livermore Area Recreation and Park District Nearby Rededication Plaque reads: Andrew J. Carnegie Building Constructed 1911 Beautified and rededicated in the spirit of our American Revolution July 4th 1977 Livermore Bicentennial Organization L.A.R.P.D. and the citizens of Livermore
Dublin Village Historic Settlement & Old St. Raymond’s Church
6600 Donlon Way, Dublin CA
The church was built in 1859, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is the oldest wooden church in California.
463 and 341 Kilkare Rd, Sunol
In 1890 Henry Ellis planted three acres of vineyard on his Estate, and it is known that wine was produced here. This acreage was included when the Sunol Viticulture District was named in the 1898 report to the State Board of Viticulture consisting of 14 vineyards totaling 148.5 acres and total cooperage of 25,000 gallons. In 1969 the Elliston Estate was purchased by Ramon and Amy Awtrey and has been carefully restored and refurbished with period pieces. Today Elliston is on the National Register of Historic places.
Danville Southern Pacific Railroad Depot
355 Railroad Ave, Danville
The Southern Pacific Railroad Depot was built in 1891 after the railroad line was completed from Avon to San Ramon. In order to build the depot, 8.65 acres of land were sold to the Southern Pacific by John Hartz who owned the surrounding land. In the 1990’s it was purchased, relocated about 100 yards north of its original location, turned around, and restored to house the Museum of the San Ramon Valley.
Forest Home Farms
19953 San Ramon Valley Blvd., San Ramon
In June of 2002 Forest Home Farms was placed on the National Register of Historic Places and the California Register of Historical Resources.